Simply Watercolor Christmas

Yes, I am a forever student. I just began the Online Card Class Simply Watercolor Christmas. Yesterday was day one. Using the ideas from the instructors I completed two cards.

Watercolor Project #1 – Gift box
Watercolor Project #2 – Christmas Tree

While my cards are not my favorite, I did discover something fun in class. I love the way Kristina showed me how to get a more opaque look from the metallic paints. A couple things that I would point out.

  1. MAKE sure your paint is DRY before removing masking tape
  2. Burnish the side of the tape that will be holding back the watercolor
  3. Keep those pencil lines light and when possible, use water soluble pencil
  4. Don’t be afraid to experiment.

On my tree, I wanted to make a big star, but I wanted to highlight the paint not the die cutting. Because the sentiment is large, I decided to paint the star.

Problem: I am not so good at star painting. Like they are more than primitive stars more like toddler star.

Solution. I die cut a star from masking tape. My original though was to use it as a mask, but I couldn’t use the negative space because it was so thin on one side and I didn’t think the tape would hold the watercolor back. (There was other stuff on the die cut).

Second Solution: I used the positive edge of the star placed it over the tree, and outlined it very carefully with the gold paint. Removed the tape and then filled in the star. It work wonderfully!

Something I love about taking classes, they make me think. I must not fall back on my comfortable way of doing things. That star is my happy for this first class. I love how it looks on that tree! It really was the finishing touch.

Stay tuned for more projects.

4 thoughts on “Simply Watercolor Christmas

  1. sondrahammond October 13, 2020 / 7:29 pm

    Love them both! Great job on the slimline…creative use of the technique!!

  2. Golda October 14, 2020 / 2:58 pm

    I like both of them. That’s a great way to have done the star, too. It’s fun learning, or even just getting someone else’s take on how to do something. This is fun.

  3. Liz Thayer October 20, 2020 / 6:32 am

    I am in this class, too & these are so awesome! You’re doing so well. 🙂

Leave a Reply